Deakin takes Third Sector lifetime achievement accolade

Professor Nicholas Deakin, author of the Deakin Report, won the Luke FitzHerbert award for lifetime achievement at last night's Third Sector Excellence Awards.

Deakin is best known for chairing the 1995 Commission on the Future of the Voluntary Sector, commonly known as the Deakin Commission, which pulled together the views of charities across the country. The resulting Deakin Report was a significant factor behind the creation of the Compact, the Office of the Third Sector and ChangeUp, as well as regulatory reform and the introduction of a public benefit test for charities.

The lifetime achievement award, given to an individual who has shown sustained commitment to charities during their career and has succeeded in advancing the interests of the sector as a whole, was this year renamed after Luke FitzHerbert, the first winner of the lifetime achievement award. FitzHerbert, who was a writer, activist, trainer and senior researcher for the Directory of Social Change, was killed in a road accident in January.

His widow, Kay, praised Deakin for his combination of energy, commitment, consistency and ability as a chairman.

“Put all that together, add a modest ego, stir and you have that highly effective, much prized, but all too rare spirit: the enabler,” she said, presenting the award.

Deakin warned in his acceptance speech that although politicians were currently showering attention on the charity sector, climate change in Westminster could be as rapid as in the Arctic Circle. “The sector’s representatives need to make sure they keep with them a stout umbrella,” he said.

Guests at London’s Hurlingham Club also saw third sector minister Phil Hope present Citizens Advice with the changing the world award following its successful, low-cost campaign to convince banks to abolish ATM charges to benefit those on low incomes.

The small charity, big achiever award went to the Relationships Centre in Warrington, Cheshire, for its Talk, Don’t Walk scheme to prevent young people from running away.

Former third sector minister Ed Miliband, who is now minister for the cabinet office, also addressed the event. "When I think about the next 10 years change will not happen because Government wants it to happen, it will be because people demand it," he said. "And it is third sector organisations that will make this happen."

A 64-page commemorative book of the night with pictures from the evening will be distributed with Third Sector next Wednesday. To order a copy, contact

The winners in full

Third Sector Awards

The Luke FitzHerbert lifetime achievement award

Winner: Professor Nicholas Deakin

Small charity, big achiever

Winner: The Relationships Centre
Highly commended: Vassall Centre Trust
Other finalists: Afrikids, Beatbullying, Coventry & Warwickshire YMCA, SpeakersBank


The changing the world award

Winner: Citizens Advice
Highly commended: Every Disabled Child Matters


Innovation in grant making

(Sponsored by Grass Roots)

Winner: Rayne Foundation
Other finalists: Futurebuilders England, v


(Sponsored by Adventure Capital Fund)

Winner: Sue Ryder Care
Other finalists: Barnardo’s Hamara Family Project, Community Foundation for Greater Manchester, Donate As You Spend

Communication and marketing

Best communications campaign

(Sponsored by Event MS)

Winner: MND Association
Highly commended: Every Disabled Child Matters
Other finalists: Beatbullying, History Matters, Myeloma UK, National Federation of Women’s Institutes

Best communications team

(Sponsored by

Winner: The Prince’s Trust
Other finalists: British Heart Foundation, The Children’s Society, Community Press Office, NSPCC

Best website

(Sponsored by Rapidata)

Winner: The Rayne Foundation
Other finalists: Action for Blind People , Cats Protection, Lewis-Manning Hospice, National Federation of Women’s Institutes, PDSA

Best use of digital media

(Sponsored by Rapidata)

Winner: Crisis UK
Highly commended: I Can
Other finalists: Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development, NSPCC, The Queen’s Nursing Institute, Voluntary Action Media Unit

Brand development

(Sponsored by People Media)

Winner: Myeloma UK
Other finalists: Beat, British Heart Foundation, Forum For the Future, Get Connected Helpline, Penny Brohn Cancer Care


Best annual report

(Sponsored by OLIM)

Winner: Borderline
Other finalists: Army Benevolent Fund, Hilton in the Community Foundation, The Prostate Cancer Charity, Refugee Council, RNLI, Sightsavers International

Best investment strategy

(Sponsored by HSBC)

Winner: British Red Cross

Best finance team

(Sponsored by ICAEW)

Winner: Terrence Higgins Trust
Other finalists: Kent Union, The Stroke Association


Best direct marketing campaign

(sponsored by Fundraising Standards Board)

Winner: Amnesty International

Highly commended: Crisis UK

Other finalists: British Red Cross, Norwood, Practical Action, RNLI, Royal British Legion

Best fundraising event

(Sponsored by Everyclick)

Winner: Dearne Valley Venture: Absolutely Fabulous fashion show
Highly commended: Sport Relief: David Walliams’ Channel swim
Other finalists: Ark: 2007 fundraising party; Barnardo’s: Store Wars; Breast Cancer Campaign: Wear it Pink; North Devon Hospice: Nightwalk 2007; Youthnet: A Million for a Million Ball

Best fundraising team

(Sponsored by Everyclick)

Winner: Durham University Charities Kommittee (Duck)
Highly commended: Leonard Cheshire
Other finalists: The Children’s Society, Crisis UK, East Anglian Air Ambulance, NSPCC, Unicef UK


Best charity partnership

(Sponsored by Markettiers4DC)

Winner: Charityshare: the NSPCC, the Children’s Society, the Alzheimer’s Society
Other finalists: GreenArc project: a partnership of 13 organisations; History Matters: National Trust, English Heritage, Historic Houses Association, the Civic Trust, Heritage Lottery Fund; HMP Foston Hall Link Worker Scheme: P3, Revolving Doors; Mind the Gap project: Mentor UK, Adfam, Grandparents Plus

Best corporate partnership

(Sponsored by Markettiers4DC)

Winner: Leonard Cheshire and Howdens Joinery
Other finalists: Cancer Research UK and Network Rail; National Autistic Society and Vodafone; QED-UK and Bradford & Bingley; Terrence Higgins Trust and Erotica 2006; Ulster Cancer Foundation and Gordons Chemists; Weston Spirit and 02

Best use of the Compact

(Sponsored by Markettiers4DC)

Winner: Alström Syndrome UK
Other finalists: Edinburgh Voluntary Organisations’ Council, Hertfordshire County Council

At Work

Best employer

(Sponsored by Charity People)

Winner: Forum For the Future
Other finalists: The Children’s Society, Leeds University Union, ProjectScotland, Thames Reach

Employee innovation

(Sponsored by Russam GMS)

Winner: Morris Simpson, Fresh Horizons

Volunteer of the year

(Sponsored by the Charities Proprty Fund)

Winner: Vickie Morton, St Giles Trust
Other finalists: Jade Amoli Jackson, Refugee Council; Pam Carnegie, Mentor UK; Mark Liddell, National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society; Pamela MacInnes, Sense Scotland; Dennis Rogers, Thames Reach


Most improved trustee board

(Sponsored by CFA)

Winner: King’s College London Students Union
Other finalists: BTCV, Quarriers, St Anne’s Community Services

Accountability and transparency

(Sponsored by CEBF)

Winner: AfriKids
Other finalists: Cancerbackup, School Governors’ One-Stop Shop, Shared Interest

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in

Before commenting please read our rules for commenting on articles.

If you see a comment you find offensive, you can flag it as inappropriate. In the top right-hand corner of an individual comment, you will see 'flag as inappropriate'. Clicking this prompts us to review the comment. For further information see our rules for commenting on articles.

comments powered by Disqus