Charity Tribunal appoints lay members

The Charity Tribunal has appointed its quota of lay members after an 11-month recruitment process.

On the panel: former Esmee Fairbarn boss Hyde
On the panel: former Esmee Fairbarn boss Hyde

The seven members, who were all required to have "appropriate knowledge or experience relating to charities", include Susan Elizabeth, former chief executive of the Camelot Foundation, and Margaret Hyde, former director of the Esmee Fairbairn Foundation. Other appointees, selected from over 140 applications, are less well known in the sector.

Stephen Lloyd, senior partner at charity law firm Bates Wells & Braithwaite, was surprised that some of the appointees did not have more experience in the charity sector. "But the fact that they aren't the usual suspects is no bad thing," he said. "It is good to look at things anew and consider different ways of doing things."

He said it was not necessary for the lay members to have detailed knowledge of the sector because their role would be to come to a decision based on the arguments put in front of them, guided by the legal advice of the tribunal's five legally qualified members. "On that basis, they all look sound and solid citizens," he said.

Ben Kernighan, deputy chief executive of umbrella body the NCVO, said: "The members bring a wide range of experience to these important roles."

Tribunal members will hear cases in panels of three, which will include at least one legally qualified member or tribunal president Alison McKenna. They will be paid £255 per day, compared with £450 for legally qualified members.

The lay members' positions were first advertised in early October of last year, and interviews took place in April. They have been appointed for a renewable period of five years.

The legal members are Stephen Claus, Nigel Gerald, Peter Hinchcliffe, Jonathan Holbrook and Vivien Rose.


MANU DUGGAL - Merchant banker and a director or investor in property, insurance and technology businesses. Also a magistrate. Has served as a trustee of ethnic minority training charity Leap.

SUSAN ELIZABETH - Chief executive of the Camelot Foundation from 2001 to 2006. Trustee of two large charities. Has worked for organisations at local, regional and national level, including the NCVO.

STUART REYNOLDS - Became chief executive of Birmingham Children's Hospital Charities in 2003 after a corporate career. Trustee of various charities. Helped draw up the model Sorp 2005 for NHS charities.

HELEN CARTER - Consultant who has been chief executive of both a regional and a national charity. Served on committee of Acevo forerunner Acenvo. A lay member on employment tribunals.

AISHA KHAN JP - Has worked in the sector for more than 10 years in community-led organisations. Is managing director of a women's community organisation and vice chair of the Children's Trust.

MARGARET HYDE - Has worked as a manager, consultant, trustee and volunteer in the sector. Director of the Esmee Fairbairn Foundation from 1994 to 2005. Given an OBE in 2006 for services to the voluntary sector.

CAROLE PARK JP - Tax adviser who works as fundraising manager for a Church of England diocese. Is also involved in awarding grants from a church community fund. Member of the Institute of Fundraising.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in