Excellence Awards: The judging

With more than 320 entries to sift through, the judges of this year's Excellence Awards faced tough choices

Third Sector Excellence Awards judges
Third Sector Excellence Awards judges

The 27 judges for this year's Third Sector Excellence Awards are senior practitioners from all parts of the sector or, in a few cases, from the business world. They were divided into groups by their areas of expertise.

During the judging day on 12 July, they discussed each entry in the awards being considered by their groups before assigning scores to each entrant. The mean average of these scores was then used to pick the winner, finalists and any high commendations.

The winners of the three Third Sector Awards were chosen by the editorial team of Third Sector in the same way.


The judges:

Annual Report, Communications Team & Communications Campaign

Caroline Diehl, Richard Evans, Jane Moyo, Tom Burgess, Gill Dandy
- Caroline Diehl, chief executive, Media Trust
- Richard Evans, head of comms, World Cancer Research Fund
- Jane Moyo, head of media relations, ActionAid
- Tom Burgess, publications manager, WaterAid
- Gill Dandy, chair, Chartered Institute of Public Relations' Fifth Estate



Brand Development, Use of Digital Media & Website
Diana Tickell, Leah Williams, Gobion Rowlands, Dan Dufour

- Diana Tickell, director of comms, Barnardo's
- Leah Williams, community and social media manager, Breast Cancer Care
- Gobion Rowlands, chairman, Red Redemption
- Dan Dufour, senior planner (brand specialist), The Good Agency



Innovation in Fundraising, Direct Marketing Campaign, Fundraising Event & Fundraising Team
Barney Hosey, Amanda Shepard, Susan Davidson, John Mensah

- Barney Hosey, client service director, Brightsource
- Amanda Shepard, director of development, Institute of Fundraising
- Susan Davidson, supporter development and innovation director, Save the Children
- John Mensah, committee member, Black Fundraisers Network




Charity Trading, Financial Management & Social Enterprise
Lyeloon Kazi, Therese Wilson, Helen Verney, John Kelly

- Lyeloon Kazi, co-founder, Livity
- Therese Wilson, head of retail, St Peter and St James Hospice and Continuing Care Centre
- Helen Verney, finance director, Diocese of London
- John Kelly, head of client investments, CCLA Investment Management



Charity Partnership, Corporate Partnership & Public Sector Partnership
Anand Shukla, Emma Cornish

- Anand Shukla, business director, Daycare Trust
- Emma Cornish, stakeholder strategy manager, Pfizer





Volunteer of the Year & Best Employer
Martin Edwards, Frances Hurst, Dame Elisabeth Hoodless, Martin Kinsella

- Martin Edwards, chief executive, Julia's House
- Frances Hurst, co-founder, Birdsong Charity Consulting
- Dame Elisabeth Hoodless, executive director, CSV
- Martin Kinsella, chief executive, P3



Innovation by Trusts and Foundations & Trustee Board of the Year
Peter Stanford, Clare Thomas, Nicola Evans, Nigel Siederer

- Peter Stanford, director, the Longford Trust, and chair, Aspire
- Clare Thomas, chair, Association of Charitable Foundations
- Nicola Evans, senior associate, Bircham Dyson Bell
- Nigel Siederer, founder, The Good Foundations Consultancy



The Luke FitzHerbert Lifetime Achievement Award, Big Impact Award, & Small Charity, Big Achiever

The Third Sector editorial team:
- Stephen Cook, editor
- Tristan Donovan, deputy editor
- Andy Ricketts, news editor
- John Plummer, reporter
- David Ainsworth, reporter
- Kaye Wiggins, reporter

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in
RSS Feed

Third Sector Insight

Sponsored webcasts, surveys and expert reports from Third Sector partners

Third Sector Logo

Get our bulletins. Read more articles. Join a growing community of Third Sector professionals

Register now