Institute of Fundraising announces two new trustees

Institute has co-opted Kath Abrahams, pictured, of Breakthrough Breast Cancer, and Lynda Thomas, of Macmillan Cancer Support, to fill board vacancies

Kath Abrahams
Kath Abrahams

The Institute of Fundraising has announced the appointment of two new trustees.

Kath Abrahams, director of engagement and income generation at Breakthrough Breast Cancer, and Lynda Thomas, director of fundraising at Macmillan Cancer Support, were co-opted to the board at its last meeting in April, to fill two vacancies.

One of the vacancies was left by Gill Raikes, former director of fundraising at the National Trust, who stood down as vice-chair after 10 years in various roles at the IoF, due to the demands of her new role as chief executive of the Royal Brompton and Harefield Hospital Charitable Fund.

Stephen George, director of fundraising at Maggie’s Cancer Caring Centres, and an institute trustee since 2011, has replaced her as vice-chair.

A spokesman for the IoF said its constitution allowed it to co-opt people to its board if individuals were required with "particular skills and/or qualities to contribute to the work of the IoF".

"The articles of association allows for up to six co-opted trustees who shall be co-opted by the trustees and as these are not elected positions, they do not need to be voted in as trustees by the membership at AGM," he said.

In a statement, Thomas said: "At Macmillan we place huge importance on being personal, open, inspiring and always demanding better. I hope I can live these values in this role to create an environment to help drive fundraising excellence across the sector."

Abrahams said: "I’m delighted to have the opportunity to serve as a trustee of the IoF – fundraising has never been more important as charities do everything they can to deliver their missions, while facing the challenges of a prolonged recession."

The IoF has asked members to nominate three more board members to replace Charlotte King, who is the board’s Northern Ireland representative, Jasvir Kaur and Dawn Varley, who are stepping down. Nominations close on Wednesday. The results will be announced at the institute’s AGM in July.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in