New Sorp committee includes comms specialist Joe Saxton

The co-founder of the consultancy nfpSynergy and Caron Bradshaw of the Charity Finance Group are among those appointed to a new body to oversee the accounting standards

Joe Saxton
Joe Saxton

Joe Saxton, co-founder of the consultancy nfpSynergy, plus the heads of the Charity Finance Group and a charity taxation forum for the Republic of Ireland are among appointments to the new committee to oversee the charities Sorp accounting standards.

Members of the 19-person committee, which will meet for the first time on 11 December, will serve until 2018.

The body is responsible for peer-reviewing future changes to the Statement of Recommended Practice, under which registered charities must prepare their accounts.

One of the committee’s first challenges will be considering what to do after the likely withdrawal of the new FRSSE Sorp that was created for smaller charities.

The previous committee was dissolved after the publication of the new Sorps earlier this year.

Alongside Saxton is Caron Bradshaw, chief executive of the CFG, and Sheila Norden, executive director of the membership body Irish Charities Tax Research.

The committee will be chaired jointly by Nigel Davies, head of accountancy services at the Charity Commission, and Laura Anderson, head of enforcement at the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator.

Charities represented on the committee include Cancer Research UK, the National Almshouse Association and the Dublin-based homelessness charity Focus Ireland.

Auditors and external examiners are also included in the committee, which draws its members from all four major UK and Ireland charity jurisdictions. The  Sorp is currently best practice for voluntary organisations in the Republic of Ireland.

In addition to 19 full members, there are five observer members of the committee, including David McConnell, monitoring and compliance manager at the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland and Úna Ní Dhubhghaill, chief executive of the Charities Regulatory Authority, the Republic of Ireland’s new regulator, established in October.

Bradshaw was previously an observer member, while two full members have been reappointed having previously sat on the committee: Professor Noel Hyndman of the management school of Queen’s University, Belfast, and Carol Rudge, head of not-for-profit at the accountancy firm Grant Thornton.

Davies and Anderson also served on the previous committee.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in
RSS Feed

Third Sector Insight

Sponsored webcasts, surveys and expert reports from Third Sector partners

Third Sector Logo

Get our bulletins. Read more articles. Join a growing community of Third Sector professionals

Register now