Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator appoints three new board members

Pat Armstrong, chief executive of Acosvo (pictured), will join the regulator's board on 1 April, with Stuart Cross, a charity lawyer and academic, and Shona Ulrichsen, a consultant

Pat Armstrong
Pat Armstrong

The Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator has appointed three new board members, including Pat Armstrong, chief executive of the Association of Chief Officers of Scottish Voluntary Organisations.

Armstrong will join the board on 1 April, as will Stuart Cross, a charity lawyer and academic, and Shona Ulrichsen, an independent consultant.

Board members Annie Gunner Logan and Lindsay Montgomery, chair of the audit committee, retire  at the end of March because they have come to the end of their four-year terms. This means that the board will grow to eight members.

Before working in the third sector, Armstrong had a career in banking and finance. She is also a member of the Institute of Directors Scotland Committee and the Acosvo-led Third Sector Governance Forum.

Cross is senior lecturer at the University of Dundee’s school of law. He also sits on the charity law sub-committee of the Law Society of Scotland and is chair of Fife Cultural Trust.

Ulrichsen, an independent consultant to the charity sector, has experience of management in the public, private and voluntary sectors, and has developed national programmes at the Big Lottery Fund.

Board members at the OSCR are paid £200 a day for their work, with an average time commitment of one and a half days a month.

The appointments were made by John Swinney MSP, Scotland’s cabinet secretary for finance, employment and sustainable growth.

Reverend Dr Graham Forbes, chair of the OSCR, said everyone at the regulator was looking forward to working with the new appointments.


Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in