Scores of voluntary sector figures recognised in New Year Honours list

The leaders of the NSPCC and the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation were among those to receive top awards

An OBE medal (Photograph: Yui Mok/Pool/AFP via Getty Images)
An OBE medal (Photograph: Yui Mok/Pool/AFP via Getty Images)

The chief executives of the NSPCC and the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation are among the sector figures to have received top awards in the New Year Honours list. 

Peter Wanless was knighted and Caroline Mason was made a dame in the annual awards, which featured gongs for hundreds of voluntary sector workers and volunteers. 

Guy Weston, chair of grant-maker the Garfield Weston Foundation for the past 20 years, and Stephen Deuchar, former director of the Art Fund, were also knighted. 

Among those in the voluntary sector to be awarded CBEs were Greta Westwood, chief executive of the Florence Nightingale Foundation, which provides scholarships for nurses and midwives, Wasfi Kani, founder and chief executive of the arts organisation Grange Park Opera, and Maureen McGinn, former chair of the National Lottery Community Fund’s Scotland committee. 

Sector leaders who received OBEs included Caron Bradshaw, chief executive of the Charity Finance Group, Carol Mack, chief executive of the Association of Charitable Foundations, Adeela Warley, chief executive of CharityComms, and Jane Ide, who stepped down in November as chief executive of the local infrastructure umbrella body Navca to take up the same role at the the cultural sector support charity Creative & Cultural Skills. 

Others to be appointed OBE included Moira Sinclair, chief executive of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation, Andrew Barnett, director of the grant-maker the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation UK, and Ian Lush, chief executive of the Imperial Health Charity, which raises funds for the five north-west London hospitals of the Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust.

Fozia Irfan, who last year joined BBC Children in Need as director of children and young people after six years as chief executive of the Bedfordshire and Luton Community Foundation, received the same honour. 

OBEs also went to Hugh Rolo, chair of the social investment body Key Fund, David Delew, who stepped down last year as chief executive of the Community Security Trust after nearly 30 years with the antisemitism charity, and Tanjit Dosanjh, founder and chief executive of the rehabilitation charity the Prison Opticians Trust. 

Paul Amadi, chief supporter officer at the British Red Cross and a former chair of the Chartered Institute of Fundraising, was among those in the voluntary sector to be named MBE. 

Carol Akiwumi, founder and chief executive of Money4You and a CIOF trustee, Tiger de Souza, volunteering and inclusion director at the National Trust, Anna Dixon, chief executive of the Centre for Ageing Better, Mary McGrath, chief executive of the surplus food charity FoodCycle, and Jo Hobbs, chief executive of the British Youth Council, were also among those to receive MBEs. 

Anne Baker, from Salisbury in Wiltshire and who at 106 years old was the oldest person on the list, was given an MBE for fundraising for the NSPCC. 

The Cabinet Office said 65 per cent of the 1,239 people to receive an award had undertaken outstanding work in their communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in
RSS Feed

Third Sector Insight

Sponsored webcasts, surveys and expert reports from Third Sector partners