Sector figures loom large on safeguarding authority board

Four voluntary sector leaders are among the 10 board members appointed today by the Independent Safeguarding Authority, which will oversee the new vetting and barring scheme for people working with children and vulnerable adults.

The four are: Moira Murray, child protection expert at the Children’s Society; Donald Findlater, director of research and development at child protection charity the Lucy Faithfull Foundation; Debbie Ariyo, founder and executive director of Africans Unite against Child Abuse; and Dr John Belcher, chief executive of not-for-profit at older people’s care housing and support provider the Anchor Trust. They join the ISA’s chair, former Barnardo’s chief executive Roger Singleton.

“I am delighted to announce that the board of the Independent Safeguarding Authority is now in place,” said Singleton. “This is an important milestone towards improving the safety of the most vulnerable people in our society.

“I am looking forward to working alongside such a wealth of experience to ensure that those who are judged to pose a risk to children and vulnerable adults are barred from working with them.”

The ISA scheme, which will keep a list of people who are barred from working or volunteering with children and vulnerable adults, will be launched in October 2009.

The board members

Debbie Ariyo Founder and executive director of Afruca

Dr Valerie Brasse Adviser to the Cumberlege Commission, established by the Catholic Church in England and Wales to review the church’s safeguarding arrangements for children and vulnerable adults; social care adviser to the Victoria Climbié child abuse inquiry; led child protection policy development and implementation, including implementing parts of the Children Act 1989.

Dr John Belcher CBE Chief executive, Anchor Trust.

Richard Black OBE Career in social services. Retired in 2007.

Tom Davies Commissioner for the Independent Police Commission, with responsibility for Wales.

Donald Findlater Director of research and development, Lucy Faithfull Foundation.

Professor Don Grubin Professor of psychiatry at Newcastle University and consultant forensic psychiatrist in the Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Trust.

Moira Murray Safeguarding coordinator, Children’s Society.

Mehmuda Mian Pritchard Commissioner at the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

Peter Withers Board member, Tayside Health Board and Risk Management Authority, executive vice chairman (resources) for the Civil Service Sports Council.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in
RSS Feed

Third Sector Insight

Sponsored webcasts, surveys and expert reports from Third Sector partners