Third Sector Awards 2014: The judges

Twenty seven experts from the charity sector came together in July to judge this year's awards

The judging day
The judging day

Annual report and Brand development
1. Deana Selby, Publications manager, Dogs Trust
2. Sandy Suffield, Creative director, Wolff Olins
3. Reuben Turner, Creative director, The Good Agency

Use of digital media
4. Charlotte Beckett, Head of digital, Four Communications
5. Peter McClory, Managing director, Curve Agency
6. Jamie Ward-Smith, Chief executive, ivo

Communications campaign
7. Vivienne Francis, Director of communications, Prostate Cancer UK
8. Peter Gilheany*, Director, Forster Communications
9. John Palmer, Executive director of marketing and communications, MS Society

Direct marketing campaign, Fundraising Success and Charity Partnership
10. Angela Dickson, Chair and founder, the Brain Tumour Charity
11. Adil Husseini, Head of fundraising, Disasters Emergency Committee
12. Sara Lom, Chief executive, Royal Parks Foundation

Corporate partnership and Charity Chair of the Year
13. Dominic Bond, UK managing director, the Sabre Charitable Trust
14. Nick Brooks Partner, Kingston Smith
15. John Hildebrand, Senior investment director, Investec Wealth Management
16. Valerie Morton, Fundraiser and consultant
17. John Williams, Vice-chair, Association of Chairs

Enterprise, Best start-up and Rising Chief Executive
18. Elanor Hoskin, Chief executive, Chicks
19. Richard Litchfield, Chief executive, Eastside Primetimers
20. Lee Pennington, Director, the Open Door Centre

Volunteer Manager and Volunteer of the year
21. Martin Edwards, Chief executive, Julia’s House
22. James Middleton, Trainee therapeutic worker and former volunteer,
Phoenix Futures
23. Michael Shann, Ambassador programme manager, Carers UK

Big Impact and Small charity, big achiever
24. Eric Appleby, Chief executive, Encompass
25. Tony Armstrong, Chief executive, Locality
26. Linda Butcher, Chief executive, the Sheila McKechnie Foundation
27. Stephen Harvey, Director of fundraising and communications, Riders for Health

Britain's Most Admired Charities

The Britain’s Most Admired Charities awards are different from other charity awards in that the winners are chosen by charity chief executives who are asked to vote for their preferences from a shortlist put forward by Third Sector.

The shortlist is drawn up in a two-stage process. In the first stage, Third Sector asks a panel of senior figures in the sector (below) to nominate candidates, giving brief accounts of the reasons for their choices.

The Third Sector editorial team then selects a shortlist for each category, taking into account the number of nominations and the cases made by the nominators. This year, five candidates were shortlisted in three categories.
The shortlist is then published on the Third Sector website and chief executives are asked to vote through an online survey. This year, nearly 200 chief executives voted.

The nominations panel for BMAC 2014

Debra Allcock Tyler, Chief executive, Directory for Social Change
Elizabeth Balgobin, Consultant and interim chief executive, Advance Advocacy Project
Vicky Browning, Director, CharityComms
Kevin Curley, Consultant
Dame Mary Marsh, Founding director, Clore Social Leadership Programme
Joe Saxton, Co-founder, nfpSynergy
Matthew Sherrington, Consultant, Inspiring Action Consultancy

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in
RSS Feed

Third Sector Insight

Sponsored webcasts, surveys and expert reports from Third Sector partners

Third Sector Logo

Get our bulletins. Read more articles. Join a growing community of Third Sector professionals

Register now