Third Sector Awards open for entry

The 2021 awards have launched with four new categories and a free entry pilot for small and micro charities

Entries for the Third Sector Awards, which celebrate the work of charities and the difference they make to society, have opened for 2021. 

After an unprecedented year for the voluntary and not-for-profit sector, the awards will recognise the work of the sector throughout the Covid-19 pandemic to support service users, raise awareness of crucial issues and drive best practice among their peers. 

This includes two Covid-19 specific categories: one awarded to the best service delivery innovation during the pandemic, and one awarded to an exceptional front line team. 

Awards for Best use of Social Media and Digital Champion of the Year have also been included. 

The 2021 awards are piloting a new scheme to spotlight the successes of small, micro, local and BAME-led charities, by offering 30 free entry places to charities with annual incomes of less than £100,000. 

“Small and micro charities make up the majority of the third sector landscape, and most local and BAME-led sector organisations fall within this group,” said Emily Burt, editor of Third Sector

“These organisations carry out some of the most crucial work the sector has to offer, and often fail to get the recognition they deserve. We are really excited to be taking steps to improve the accessibility of the awards for smaller organisations in 2021, and hope the scheme will be a success we can build on in future years.” 

The awards will be co-chaired by Emma Ratzer, chief executive of the social inclusion charity Access Community Trust. 

Ratzer was awarded chief executive of the year at the 2020 Third Sector Awards after devising and delivering a number of initiatives in direct response to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Sajda Mughal, chief executive and specialist adviser at the BAME women’s charity JAN Trust will also chair the awards. 

Mughal’s activism and work with BAME communities in countering extremism has received national and international recognition, including the accolade of ‘Campaigner of the Year’ at the 2018 European Diversity Awards for her counter-terrorism work.

The early bird deadline for entries is 21 May, and the standard deadline is 17 June. Shortlisted entries will be announced on 22 July. 

To enquire about the awards please contact Stephanie Griffiths:

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in

Latest Jobs

RSS Feed

Third Sector Insight

Sponsored webcasts, surveys and expert reports from Third Sector partners


Expert hub

Insurance advice from Markel

How bad can cyber crime really get: cyber fraud #1

Promotion from Markel

In the first of a series, we investigate the risks to charities from having flawed cyber security - and why we need to up our game...

Third Sector Logo

Get our bulletins. Read more articles. Join a growing community of Third Sector professionals

Register now